The Bahmani Sultanate, also known as the Bahmani Kingdom, was a medieval Muslim kingdom that ruled over the Deccan region of South India from the late 14th century to the early 16th century. It was one of the significant Sultanates that emerged in the wake of the Delhi Sultanate's decline. Here are key points about the Bahmani Sultanate:

**1. Founding:** The Bahmani Sultanate was founded in 1347 CE by Alauddin Bahman Shah, a noble of the Delhi Sultanate. He declared independence and established his capital at Gulbarga, Karnataka.

**2. Geographic Extent:** The Bahmani Sultanate controlled a vast territory that encompassed parts of present-day Karnataka, Maharashtra, Telangana, and Andhra Pradesh.

**3. Rulers:** The sultans of the Bahmani Sultanate included notable figures like Muhammad Shah I, Firuz Shah Bahmani, and Mahmud Shah Bahmani, among others.

**4. Administrative Structure:** The Sultanate was divided into provinces, each under the control of a governor known as a "Wali." The provinces were further divided into districts, with local officials overseeing administration and revenue collection.

**5. Religion and Tolerance:** The Bahmani Sultanate followed the Sunni sect of Islam. It maintained a policy of religious tolerance, allowing the coexistence of various religious communities, including Hindus. This policy helped foster cultural diversity in the region.

**6. Persian Influence:** Persian culture, language, and administrative practices had a significant influence on the Bahmani Sultanate. Persian was the official language, and Persian-style gardens, architecture, and art were prominent features of the Sultanate's culture.

**7. Art and Architecture:** The Bahmani Sultanate contributed to the development of Indo-Islamic architecture in the Deccan. Notable examples include the Bidar Fort and the Madrasa of Mahmud Gawan.

**8. Conflict with Other Sultanates:** The Bahmani Sultanate often clashed with neighboring Sultanates, particularly the Vijayanagara Empire in the south and the neighboring Golconda Sultanate.

**9. Decline:** Internal strife, disputes among noble factions, and external pressures from the Vijayanagara Empire and other Deccan Sultanates led to the gradual decline of the Bahmani Sultanate.

**10. Fragmentation:** In 1482, the Bahmani Sultanate split into five separate Sultanates, known as the Deccan Sultanates or the Five Sultanates. These were the Sultanates of Bijapur, Golconda, Ahmadnagar, Berar, and Bidar.

**11. Legacy:** The Bahmani Sultanate played a significant role in shaping the political and cultural landscape of the Deccan region. Its legacy includes contributions to architecture, art, and the promotion of Persian culture in South India.

**12. Impact on Deccan History:** The division of the Bahmani Sultanate into smaller Sultanates had a lasting impact on the Deccan's history, as these successor states continued to play important roles in the region's history.

The Bahmani Sultanate's history is a testament to the cultural and religious diversity of medieval India and the interactions between different communities and traditions in the Deccan region.

