Indian National Congress Sessions – Modern Indian History Notes PDF in English & Hindi for all Competitive Exams

Indian National Congress Sessions: The Indian National Congress (INC) is one of the two major political parties in India and has played a pivotal role in the country’s struggle for independence and subsequent governance. Since its formation in 1885, the INC has held numerous sessions or meetings, which have been significant in shaping the course of India’s history.

Indian National Congress Sessions

Here are some notable INC sessions:

1. First Indian National Congress Session (1885): The INC was founded in December 1885, and its first session was held in Bombay (now Mumbai) with Allan Octavian Hume as its General Secretary. Womesh Chunder Bonnerjee served as the President of the first session.

2. Surat Session (1907): The Surat Session is remembered for the deep divisions within the INC between the extremist and moderate factions. It was a turning point in the struggle for independence, as it highlighted the ideological differences between leaders like Bal Gangadhar Tilak and Gopal Krishna Gokhale.

3. Lucknow Session (1916): The Lucknow Session was a significant development in the Indian freedom movement. It marked a reconciliation between the moderate and extremist factions within the INC, with leaders like Annie Besant, Bal Gangadhar Tilak, and others coming together.

4. Amritsar Session (1919): The Amritsar Session took place after the Jallianwala Bagh Massacre and expressed strong condemnation of the British government’s actions. It called for a non-cooperation movement with the government.

5. Lahore Session (1929): The Lahore Session of the INC was notable for the declaration of “Purna Swaraj” (complete independence) as the goal of the Indian freedom movement. It marked a shift from demanding self-governance within the British Empire to demanding complete freedom from British rule.

6. Karachi Session (1931): The Karachi Session discussed the Gandhiji-Irwin Pact and the outcomes of the Second Round Table Conference. The session was a platform for discussing the movement’s future strategies.

7. Tripuri Session (1939): The Tripuri Session of the INC was significant because Subhas Chandra Bose was elected as the President of the party, defeating Pattabhi Sitaramayya, who was backed by Mahatma Gandhi.

8. Ramgarh Session (1940): The Ramgarh Session focused on the course of action to be taken in the context of World War II and was critical in the lead-up to the Quit India Movement.

9. Post-Independence Sessions: After India gained independence in 1947, the INC continued to hold sessions to address various political and governance issues. These sessions are important in shaping the party’s policies and leadership.

10. Relevance Today: The INC continues to hold sessions, both at the national and state levels, to discuss contemporary political issues, policy matters, and party strategies.

These are just a few of the many sessions held by the Indian National Congress over the years. Each session played a role in shaping the course of India’s history, from the early days of the independence movement to the present-day challenges in Indian politics.

Download Indian National Congress Sessions Notes PDF in Hindi

Download Indian National Congress Sessions Notes PDF in English

Follow on Facebook

By Team Learning Mantras